ZANU Provincial election results trickle in

by | Dec 29, 2021 | Politics | 0 comments


• Potential surprises in the offing

Nevanji Munyaradzi Chiondgewa

Zanu Pf has held successful and peaceful elections to choose its new Provincial leadership amidst reports of bigwigs tumbling in several provinces.

In Matabeleland South, youthful Minister of Environment, Climate, Tourism and Hospitality Industry is tipped to win and no upsets are expected.

In Masvingo incumbent Cde Ezra Ruvai Chadzamira who is Masvingo West MP and Masvingo Minister of State is contesting against immediate past Secretary for Finance Cde Robson Mavhenyengwa in a race few see any chance for Chitova as Chadzamira is affectionately known.

Early results show Chandzamira whitewashed in Bikita, Gutu and Zaka and parts of Chiredzi.

These are by far the most populous districts with the highest number of Party Districts.

Mashonaland East sees Minister of National Housing Cde Daniel Garwe taking on former Provincial Youth Chair Cde Kelvin Mutsvairo and Engineer Michael Madanha in a race many tip to be between Garwe and Mutsvairo.

Early results from this province show votes divided along geographical origin of candidates with each taking the administrative districts they come from.

Cde Garwe is tipped to take Murehwa and Goromonzi with Madanha tipped to take the bulk of Hwedza and parts of Chikomba.

Mutsvairo is leading in Marondera and Seke with parts of Chikomba up for grabs.

In Mashonaland Central incumbent and Minister of Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage Cde Kazembe Kazembe is facing a very strong challenge from Grain Millers Association of Zimbabwe president Tafadzwa Musarara who mounted a heavy challenge that could see Kazembe lose control of the province they call 20/20 in Party parlance.

Mashonaland West which saw immediate Acting Chair Abia Mujeri withdrew from the race to leave Deputy Minister of Information, Publicity and Broadcasting Services Kindness Paradza facing Minister of State for the Province and sister to former Chair and Norton independent MP Temba Mliswa and former Youth Chair Vengai Musengi.

Cde Mliswa by all predictions and early results will take it drubbing her more fancied opponents.

In Midlands, Minister of State Larry Mavima took the post of Provincial Chair unopposed.

Manucaland is not expected to produce much upsets with Cde Albert Nyakuedzwa and youthful fuel mogul Cde Dannore Mambondiani expected to sail through in their respective leagues.


In Matabeleland North incumbent and Minister of State Richard Moyo whom is called Jongosi is expected to won convincingly.

Bulawayo will see former War Veterans Chair Jabulani Sibanda return to the fold and winning the Chairmanship while Harare is a two-way race between interim Chair Goodwills Masimirembwa and his Deputy and former youth Chair Godwin Gomwe in what is a tight race to call but Masimirembwa is expected to pip Gomwe.