ZANU PF primaries postponed by a day

by | Jan 19, 2022 | Politics | 0 comments


Pretty Manyewe

ZANU PF has postponed its National Assembly and Local Authorities primary elections by a day.

The primary elections were slated for Thursday this week, but will now be held on Friday.

The announcement was made by Cde Mike Bimha, the party`s National Political Commissar in a press release.

“Provinces are advised that the primary elections have been postponed to take place on Friday the 21st of January, 2022. The Party has deployed Politburo, Central Committee, National Elections Commissioners and Secretariat from Party Headquarters to take overall charge of the conduct of both House of National Assembly and Local Authority primaries,” said Cde Bimha.

Cde Bimha urged the party`s provincial leadership to take instruction and guidance from the Politburo members deployed to their respective Provinces.

“Party Headquarters will assign Central Committee members to serve as Presiding Officers in the National House of Assembly primary elections. Provinces are requested to provide Polling Officers in both Parliamentary and Council elections as well as Presiding Officers in Local Authority,” said Cde Bimha.

The Politburo members and Commissioners that will coordinate the elections process in the designated were assigned in each province.

In Bulawayo, the team leader will be Cde Douglas Mahiya and Commissioner assigned is Cde Bhebhe.

Midlands polling process will be led by Cde Lovemore Matuke and Cde Paradza.


Cde David Parirenyatwa and Cde Tendai Chirau will coordinate in Matebeleland South while Cde July Moyo, Cde Oliver Chidau and Cde Zenzo Nsimbi will be in Matebeleland North.

Manicaland was assigned Cde Munyaradzi Machacha and Cde John Muzamba. In Mashonaland East, assigned members are Cde Mumbengegwi and Cde Monica Mavhunga.

Cde Mutsvangwa will oversee the election in Masvingo, while Brigadier General Kanhanga , Cde Abednico Ncube and Cde Mutambwa will be in Mashonaland West.

Cde Ziyambi Ziyambi and Cde Mombeshora will be running proceedings in Harare.