ZANU PF forgives errant members, allows them to contest for primaries

by | Jan 21, 2022 | Politics | 0 comments

ZANU PF forgives errant members, allows them to contest for primaries

Nevanji Munyaradzi Chiondegwa

ZANU PF has allowed several candidates who had been previously disqualified from party processes to run in the primary elections which took place across the country today.

The candidates had been disqualified for reasons ranging from standing as independent candidates in 2018 harmonised elections, not having the requisite number of years in the party structures to contest for office.

In Harare, Cde Zalerah Makari, the former MP for Epworth was given a waiver to contest for the Epworth by elections after her successful appeal.

Cde Makari had been disqualified after she had stood as an independent in 2018.

She faced off against Harare Province Political Commissar Cde Kudakwashe Damson in a litmus test for both candidates.

Cde Jinjika, the Harare Province Secretary for Administration from St Mary’s Constituency was also given a waiver to contest after he had been previously disqualified for lacking the requisite number of years at District level.

In Mashonaland East, the following candidates Cde Ruth Chikukwa, Cde Simon Mukondo, Cde Joseph James, Cde Joy Mafiro, Cde Faro Gukwe, Cde Clever Kunonga, Cde Charity Kaplin were all cleared to contest as councilors after the Party felt they were qualified to contest.

The only candidate who remained disqualified was Cde Tinashe Mutandi as he was deemed a security threat having contested previously on an MDC ticket.


Marondera Central, Cde Lawrence Katsiru and Cde Marvelous Chifamba withdrew from the race for MP leaving five contestants up for the race to represent the Party.

In Mashonaland Central, Richard Mavhunga was disqualified. The race is sewn as between Cde Cleopas Kundiona and Cde Ignatious Mateveke.

Marondera East has nine contestants and none were disqualified.

Murehwa South saw Cde Noah Mangondo remaining disqualified having stood as an independent in 2018 against the late National Hero and Mashonaland East Chairperson, Cde Joel Biggie Matiza.

Cde Solomon Musaka withdrew leaving four candidates for the race.

In Marondera Central six local authority wards are up for grabs and a total of 27 contestants are participating in the primaries.

Wedza RDC has one ward up for grabs with five contestants. In Chikomba two wards are up for grabs with twelve contestants.

Results are expected to be announced tomorrow.