Zanu Pf finalises Harare Province restructuring 

by | Jan 14, 2022 | Local News, Politics | 0 comments



Nevanji Munyaradzi Chiondegwa


The ruling Zanu Pf yesterday held its Provincial Executive Committe Elections at the party’s national headquarters.


The process had been delayed due to differences in opinion, which saw the election being held at the party’s headquarters for transparency and fairness.

There were two teams in the running, one calling itself ‘Team Majority, aligned to DCC2 Chair and former Harare Youth Chair Godwin Gomwe who narrowly lost to incumbent Chair Godwills Masimirembwa and ‘Team System’ who were campaign allies of the winning candidate had emerged.


Both teams had held secret caucuses to select their preferred line ups for the basket positions.


In a sign of robust internal democracy in ZANU PF, both teams had a Fundukwa, one is Cde Emmanuel DCC 6 Chairman and the other is Nathan Fundukwa from DCC 1.


However Cde Nathan Fundukwa was disqualified for coming to yesterday’s election drunk, against the rules announced by the presiding officer and Chitepo School of Ideology Principal, Cde Munyaradzi Machacha.


Cde Machacha explained to the gathered electoral college that elections and basket filling happens way before the election and the day itself is meant to just rubber stamp the agreed positions.


He however was at pains to let them be aware that strong teams are created from compromises.


This was after all, an internal election and they were all members of the Revolutionary Party and positions had to be balanced.


“You have to sell a pawn to gain a knight or bishop. It’s a delicate chess game,” said Politiburo Member Machacha

In the words of one newly elected executive member who preferred that his name not be in print, “The Harare Provincial Executive is set and is well balanced.

It’s all hands on the deck

We have by-elections awaiting us. We have a great task to mobilize towards 5 million votes for ZANU PF in 2023!”

The executive will have Cde Masimirembwa as Chairman deputised by Cde Emmanuel Fundukwa, with Cde Jinjika being Secretary for Administration,

Cde Martin Mambo Secretary for Finance,

Cde Kudakwashe Damson Secretary for Political Affairs or Political Commissar and Cde Voyage Dambuza as Secretary for Security and Tongai Mafidhi Mnangagwa coming in as Secretary for Information.