Three National Liberation Heroes to be laid to rest under strict COVID-19 regulations

by | Jul 12, 2021 | COVID 19 | 0 comments

Brian Rungano Temba

Burial arrangements have been made for the late national heroes Cde Abraham Nkiwane, Commander of the Zimbabwe National Army (ZNA), Lieutenant-General Edzai Absolom Chimonyo and Cde Michael Chakabva (“Cde Vhuu”).

The Ministry of Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage has announced that all is set for the burial of the three late national heroes, tomorrow, 12 July 2021.

“Whilst the late Lt. Gen. Chimonyo and Cde Chakabva will be interred at the National Shrine, Cde Nkiwane will be laid to rest at his farm in Umguza,” read the public announcement.

“The double burial of the late national heroes Lt. Gen. Chimonyo and Cde  Chakabva will be presided over by President Emmerson Mnangagwa.

Vice President Gen (Rtd) Constantino Chiwenga will also be in attendance as welll as Vice President Kembo Mohadi,” further read the public announcement.

In compliance with Covid-19 regulations, only twenty (20) close family members from each of the national heroes will be allowed to attend the burial ceremony,” read the announcement.

The Programme

• The burial ceremony will commence with close family members converging at One Commando Barracks at 0930 hrs (on 12 July 2021)

• From there the funeral cortege will depart for the National Heroes Acre at 1025 hrs.

Only the following, in addition to the limited number of family members have been invited to attend the burial ceremony;

• The Speaker of the National Assembly

• The President of the Senate

• The Chief Justice

• The Minister of Defence and War Veterans Affairs

• ZANU PF Secretary for Administration

• The Minister of Home Affairs and Cultural Heritage

• Minister of State for Provincial Affairs and Devolution for Harare Metropolitan Province

• The Chief Secretary to the Office of the President and Cabinet

• The Chairperson of the Public Service Commission Deputy Chief Secretaries

• Mayor of the City of Harare

• A limited number of Permanent Secretaries and;

• Service Chiefs

All other people are kindly requested to watch the programme on virtual