No local players in Warriors squad

by | Aug 25, 2021 | Sport | 0 comments

Alex Ndhlovu

Warriors national team coach Zdravko Logarusic has left out local based players in his squad, set to play World Cup qualifiers next month.
Zimbabwe will play South Africa in Harare, before meeting Ethiopia in their home ground a week later.

Despite English players threatening not to released players to country listed in the Covid-19 Red Zone, including Zimbabwe, Zifa has gone on to name England based players in their squads.

Zifa said they are still negotiating with clubs that have threatened to withhold the players.
“We are still hopeful that all players will be available for the matches despite the adverse position taken by the English Premier League to bar players from fulfilling national assignments citing England’s stringent quarantine regulations,” ZIfa said in a statement.
They said they are hoping to find common ground with the clubs to ensure them to fulfil their fixture.

“We are engaging all clubs that have intimated that they are going to withhold players, hoping they will fulfill their obligations to release players as stated in the regulations on the status and transfer of players. We are confident that the team that we will eventually come up with will still represent the nation with pride and compete to the best of their abilities as true Warriors,” Zifa said.

Red hot Tanzanian based forward Prince Dube has been excluded from the squad, as he is nursing an injury.
Zimbabwe domestic football action has been on hold since 2020 as part of Covid-19 preventive measures, a factor which has affected the inclusion of local based talent.

Below is the full World Cup qualifying squad:

Goalkeepers: Washington Arubi (Marumo Gallants), Talbert Shumba (Free State Stars), Martin Mapisa (Zamora CF)

Defenders: Teenage Hadebe (Houston Dynamo), Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle), Onismor Bhasera (SuperSport United), Jordan Zemura (AFC Bournemouth), Divine Lunga (Mamelodi Sundowns), Tendayi Darikwa (Wigan Athletic), Takudzwa Chimwemwe (Nkana), Jimmy Dzingai (unattached), Alec Mudimu (Torpedo Kutaisi)

Midfielders: Blessing Sarupinda (Sekhukhune United), Jonah Fabisch (Hamburger SV), Marshall Munetsi (Stade de Reims), Marvelous Nakamba (Aston Villa), Tafadzwa Rusike & Thabani Kamusoko (Zesco United), Kudakwashe Mahachi (SuperSport United), Khama Billiat (Kaizer Chiefs), Perfect Chikwende (Simba SC), Butholezwe Ncube (Amazulu) Ovidy Karuru (unattached)

Strikers: Terrence Dzvukamanja (Orlando Pirates), Tinotenda Kadewere (Lyon), David Moyo (Hamilton Academical), Admiral Muskwe (Luton Town), Knowledge Musona (Al-Tai), Macauley Bonne (Ipswich Town).