Minister Nzenza appoints Consumer Protection Commissioners

by | Apr 21, 2021 | Business, Local News | 0 comments

Mako Jerera

Minister of Industry and Commerce Dr Sekai Nzenza recently appointed a seven member Consumer Protection Commission.

The commission will be mandated to protect consumers and regulate the accreditation of consumer protection advocacy groups.

Minister Nzenza, announced the new appointments in a press statement, which followed the gazetting of the Consumer Protection Act of 2019.

The new commissioners are; Dr Mthokozisi Nkosi who chairs the commission. Other members are Mrs Rosemary Mpofu, Mrs Nomazulu Donga, Dr Davison Gomo, Ms Ethel Hlabangana, Mr Rainess Chadoka and Ms Respina Zinyanduko.

Consumers are now entitled to be fully refunded for defective or sub-standard goods and can individually approach the courts for redress or refer their complaints to the Consumer Protection Commission, set up in the new Consumer Protection Act.

Dr Nzenza said the appointments were done with concurrence of His Excellency, President Emmerson Mnangagwa, in terms of the Public Entities and Corporate Governance Act (Chapter 10:31) effective 11 March 2021.

“The Commission shall operate as an implementation mechanism of the Consumer Protection Act in line with the Ministry of Industry and Commerce’s mandate. Pursuant to that, the Commission is mandated to protect the consumers, regulate the accreditation of consumer protection advocacy groups, conduct alternative dispute resolution, and promote consumer awareness in collaboration with the requisite line ministries, Government departments, institutions and advocacy groups,” said Dr Nzenza.

In appointing the commissioners, Minister Sekai Nzena said the Government considered expertise, experience and capacity of the candidates.
Government said that the new Commission will enforce the Consumer Proection Act through investigators and inspectors deployed across the country and will be aided by consumer advocacy organisations.