Masimirembwa in early Harare Province lead

by | Dec 29, 2021 | Politics | 0 comments


Staff Reporter

The just ended ZANU-PF Harare Metropolitan Provincial elections have been described by some as the battle between the North and South of Samora Machel Avenue.

Domineering camps worth looking out for are the self-dubbed Winning Team led by Cde Godwills Masimirembwa who held office as Harare Zone 4 District Coordinating Committee (DCC) Chair and is running for Provincial Chairman.

Cde Masimirembwa has a strong support base from Northern constituencies.

His main opponent comes from the other side of Samora, Cde Godwin Gomwe of the self-dubbed People’s Choice.

Cde Gomwe also known as Zacheo because of his short stature helms from the southern districts of Harare, where most of his support base is.

He is also a DCC chair for Zone 6.

Other players who have been running for Provincial Chair include Cde Bornface Chuchu, Cde Chris Chuchu and former MP for Mt Pleasant Cde Jaison Passade.

Early signs show that the race is between Cde Gomwe and Cde Masimirembwa.

According to feedback from polling agents at fielded at all polling stations the results currently stand as such.


Collation of results has just ended in Harare’s five Zones and the results are tabulated below

Zone 2

Goodwills Masimirembwa 1304

Godwin Gomwe 1428


Zone 3

Masimirembwa 1041

Gomwe 1121


Zone 4

Masimirembwa 1534

Gomwe 776


Zone 5

Masimirembwa 1923

Gomwe 1708


Zone 6

Masimirembwa 4296

Gomwe 3718



Masimirembwa 10173

Gomwe 8616.

Meanwhile, collation of results for Zone 1 is still in progress

As for Women’s League and Youth league, Cde Chiratidzo Mukarati and Cde Emmanuel Mahachi from Cde Gomwe’s basket are currently leading in Zones 5 and 6 in the race for Provincial chairpersons for their respective wings.

Results for that contest are as follows:


Women’s League

Chiratidzo Mukarati 2744

Susan Chuma 2329

Betty Kaseke 2263

Chirimuko 109


Youth League

Emmanuel Mahachi 3876

Trymore Kanopula 2525

Samuel Chikukwa 151

Nomore Mawaliho 62


Tateguru TV is following the polls closely and will be giving live updates on the results.