Judiciary splits Constitutional and Supreme Court’s Judges for efficiency

by | Jun 5, 2021 | Crime & Courts, Local News | 0 comments


Brian Rungano Temba

Yesterday, six new Supreme Court Judges were sworn in by Deputy Chief Justice Elizabeth Gwaunza.

As required by the Law of Zimbabwe, President Emmerson Mnangagwa appointed the six new Supreme Court judges in consultation with the Judiciary Services Commission.

The new Supreme Court Judges include former Judge president George Chiweshe, Justices Alfas Chitukunye, Samuel Kudya, Felistas Chatukuta, Joseph Musakwa and Hlekani Mwayera.

Speaking to the press after the swearing in, Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Justice, Legal and Palimentary Affairs, Virginia Mabiza said,

“These Supreme Court Judges were selected from a pool of qualified and experienced candidates.
The delivery of Justice will now be enhanced.”

Permanent Secretary Mabiza said the same bench sat in both Constitutional Court and Supreme Court, today’s appointment and the one made earlier of ConCourt Judges will remove the staggered procession of business and increase efficiency in the Judiciary.

“This appointment will bing timeliness to work in the work of the two courts,” she added.

The Constitutional Court Judges that we’re appointed on May 20, 2021 include Justices Paddington Garwe, Rita Makarau, Anne-Mary Gowora, Ben Hlatshwayo and Bharat Patel.