Eight more Community radio stations licenced

by | Sep 22, 2021 | Local News | 0 comments

Brian Rungano Temba


The Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe (BAZ) on September 15, 2021, granted broadcasting licences to eight more Community Radio Stations across the country


The latest move is a demonstration of government’s commitment to bring radio communication closer to the communities and to cater for minority languages into the mainstream media.


Recipients of the licenses are as follows


1. Radio Bukalanga (Pvt) Ltd which covers Mangwe, Brunapeg and Maphisa in Matebeleland South

2. Matobo Community Radio Trust which covers Ndolwane, Plumtree and Empandeni in Matebeleland South

3. Chimanimani Community Radio Station Trust covering Chimanimani, Gwendingwe and Rusitu in Manicaland

4. Vemunganga Community Radio Trust which covers Chipinge-Checheche and Chibuwe in Manicaland

5. Ndau Community Radio Station Trust covering Mahenye (Garahwa) area in Manicaland

6. Twasumbuka Community Radio Trust will cover Binga, Kamativi and Subuawa areas in Matebeleland North.

7.Nyami Nyami Community Radio Trust operating as Kasambabezi FM will be covering Kariba and Mapongola area in Mashonaland West

8. Madziwa Community Radio Trust that will cover the Shamva area in Mashonaland central



The eight community radio stations will join Manama Community Radio Trust, Mbembesi Development Trust , Nyangani Community Radio Trust, Shashe Community Radio Broadcasting Association, Avuxeni FM, and Lyeja-Nyayi Development Trust bringing Zimbabwe to a total of 14 licensed community radio stations from the initial six.


This is a testament to the reform agenda that the Second Republic has embarked on to facilitate plurality in Media spaces that were traditionally reserved for public broadcasters.


In a statement, BAZ Acting Chief Executive Officer Engineer Matthias Chakanyuka said that all licenced Community Radio Stations were expected to start operating within stipulated times or they risk having their licences revoked.


“After licensing, the stations should be operational within 18 months, failure of which the licenses will be automatically revoked as stipulated by the Broadcasting Services Act,” said Eng Chakanyuka.