Cabinet sworn in 

by | Sep 12, 2023 | Business, Crime & Courts, Local News, Politics | 0 comments

Cabinet sworn in

Brian Rungano Temba

This afternoon, His Excellency President Emmerson Dambudzo Mnangagwa President Emmerson Mnangagwa swore in Honourable Ministers and Deputy Ministers at State House.

This follows President Mnangagwa announcing the new cabinet at State House yesterday.

Most cabinet ministers made a return while some new names made it to the list, namely Hon. Kuda David Mnangagwa, Hon. Tatenda Mavetera, Hon. Tongai Mnangagwa, Hon John Paradza, Hon. Levy Moihlome, Hon. Emily Jesaya, Hon. Monica Mavhunga and Hon. Obert Mazungunye to name a few.

Some Ministries have been split including the likes of Ministry of Environment and Tourism and the Ministry of Defence and War Veterans Affairs.

The cabinet has been praised for having a balance of gender and a greater number of youthful Ministers with impressive credentials academically.

President Mnangagwa told the press during the announcement that more deputising Ministers will be announced at a later time.


The cabinet comprises of the following;

Minister of Finance and Investment Promotion is Hon. Prof Mthuli Ncube, deputised by Hon. David Kuda Mnangagwa.

Minister of Veterans of Liberation is Hon. Christopher Mutsvangwa deputised by Hon. Monica Mavhunga.

Minister of Youth Empowerment and VTC is Hon. Tino Machakaire deputised by Hon Mpamhanga Junior.

Minister of Sports, Recreation Arts and Culture is Hon. Kirsty Coventry deputised by Hon. Emily Jesaya

Minister of Environment Climate and Wildlife is Hon Nqobizitha Ndlovu deputised by Hon John Paradza.

Minister of Tourism And Hospitality is Hon. Barbra Rwodzi deputised by Hon. Tongai Mnangagwa.

Minister of Defence is Hon. OCZ Muchinguri deputised by Hon. Levy Mayihlome.

Minister of Womens Affairs, community and SME is Hon. Monica Mutsvangwa deputised by Hon. Jeniffer Mhlanga.

Minister of Local Gvt and Public Works is Hon. Winston Chitando. Deputy hasn’t been nominated.

Minister of Foreign Affairs is Hon Fedrick Shava. Deputy has not yet been nominated.

Minister of Home Affairs is Hon. Kazembe Kazembe. Deputy Minister hasn’t been nominated yet.

Minister of Justice, Legal and Paly is Hon. Ziyambi Ziyambi deputised by Hon. Obert Mazungunye.

Minister of Information Publicity and Broadcasting Services is Hon . Jennifan Muswere. No Deputy yet.

Minister of ICT is Hon. Tatenda Mavetera deputised by Hon. D. Phuthi.

Minister of Mines and Mining Development is Hon Soda Zhemu who previously held the Miinistry of Energy. No deputy yet.

Minisrer of Higher and Tertiary Education is Hon. Prof Amon Murwira deputised by Hon. Simelizezwe Sibanda.

The Minister of Primary and Secondary Hon. T. Moyo from Mash Central, deputised by Hon. Angeline Gata.

Minister of Public Service, Labour and Social Welfare is Hon. July Moyo, deputised by Hon. Dinha.

Minister of Industry and Commerce is Hon. Sithembiso Nyoni. A Deputy hasn’t been nominated yet.

Minister of Transport and Infrastructure Development is Hon. Felix Mhona. No Deputy yet.

The Minister of Energy and Power Development is Hon. Edgar Moyo. No deputy yet.

Minister of National Housing is Hon. Daniel Garwe deputised by Hon. Yeukai Simbanegavi.

Minister of Land and Agriculture is Dr Masuka deputised by by two Ministers; Hon Vangelis Haritatoos and Hon. Davis Marapira

Minister of Health and Child Care is Hon. Dr Mombeshora. No deputy yet.

Minister of Provincial Affairs in the Office of the President and Cabinet is Hon. Lovemore Matuke.

Minister of Skills Audit and Development is Hon. Prof P. Mavhima. No deputy yet.


Provincial Ministers of State in the Office of President and Cabinet were as follows;

BULAWAYO – Hon Judith Ncube ,HARARE – Hon Charles Tawengwa, MANICALAND – Hon Matsikenyeri, MAT SOUTH – Hon E Ndlovu, MIDLANDS – Hon Owen Ncube, MASH WEST- Hon M. Chombo, MAT NORTH – Hon R. Moyo, MASVINGO – Hon E R Chadzamira, MASH CENTRAL- Hon C. Magomo and MASH EAST – Hon A Munzverengi.